Financial

The Department of Veterans Affairs

Find out about health and education benefits, employment assistance, home loans, life insurance, pensions, and memorial services for veterans. Plus special information for minorities and women in the military, and services for homeless and disabled vets.
web: www.va.gov
VA benefits: 800-827-1000
Education: 888-442-4551
Health Care: 877-222-8387

USA Cares

Provides financial support for soldiers and their families. They help pay for travel, cover mortgage or rent, utilities, and car payments while the vet is in treatment.
web: www.usacares.org

Coalition to Salute America’s Heroes

Emergency financial and other assistance for those disabled in Operation Iraqi Freedom or Operation Enduring Freedom.
web: www.saluteheroes.org

Money Geek

• Guide to Housing Benefits for Veterans: http://www.moneygeek.com/mortgage/resources/veterans-benefits-for-housing-guide/ • Guide to VA Loans: http://www.moneygeek.com/mortgage/va-home-loan/ • Adapting a Home for Disability: http://www.moneygeek.com/mortgage/resources/home-modification-for-disability/

For Emergency Financial Assistance

America’s Fund www.americasfund.org
Armed Forces Foundation www.armedforcesfoundtion.org
Boot Campaign www.bootcampaign.com
Brave Aid www.braveaid.org
Code of Support www.codeofsuupport.org
Fallen Patriot Fund www.fallenpatriotfund.org
Freedom Alliance www.freedomalliance.org
Gallant Few www.gallantfew.org
Healing Heros www.healingheros.org
Help our wounded www.helpourwounded.org
Hope for the Warrior www.hopeforthewarriors.org
Impact a Hero www.impactahero.org
Independence Fund www.independencefund.org
Modest Needs www.modestneeds.org
Networking Warriors www.networkingwarriors.org
On Behalf www.onbehlaf.org
Operation Homefront www.operationhomefront.org
Operation Ward 57 www.operationward57.org
Pen Fed www.penfed.org
Rebuild Hope www.rebuildhope.org
Reserve Aid www.reserveaid.org
Salute Inc www.saluteine.org

Service Members Guide to Military Scams

Members of the American military may willingly put themselves in the line of fire in a war zone, but few likely realize they are in the crosshairs of scammers back home. Their steady salaries, along with other support military members get from government agencies, non-profits, and civilians, attract con artists who target service members, their families, and veterans with fraudulent schemes. This guide provides an overview of common scams and dishonest lending aimed at service members and veterans.
web: https://www.moneygeek.com/financial-planning/resources/servicemember-guide-to-military-scams/

Veteran’s Support Group, Inc.
Veterans Support Group, Inc. is a 501(c)3 organization dedicated to providing free assistance to Veterans of all branches of service with service-related claims, providing guidance in obtaining medical attention and housing, and through weekly support group meetings, assisting those Veterans dealing with PTSD.
web: http://www.vetsg.org/

Log in to comment Need an account? Register here